Main Window

Overview

Back In Time main window

Main Toolbar

take_snapshot Take Snapshot
Take a new Snapshot in background. The main window can be closed during taking the snapshot. You can alternative take a new Snapshot with checksums option enabled. This will calculate checksums for every file to decide if the file has changed. Normal behavior is to only compare files size and modification time. This takes a lot more time but it will make sure, the destination files won’t be corrupt.
refresh_snapshot Refresh Snapshots List
Refresh the Snapshots in Timeline.
snapshot_name Snapshot Name

Add a name for a Snapshot so you can easily identify it later. If Don't remove named snapshots in Settings ‣ Auto Remove is enabled this will also prevent the Snapshot from being removed.

If this button is grayed out you need to select a snapshot in Timeline.

remove_snapshot Remove Snapshot

Remove one or more Snapshots from Timeline. Now can not be removed as this is no Snapshot but the live view of the local file-system.

If this button is grayed out you need to select a snapshot in Timeline.

view_snapshot_log View Snapshot Log

View the log of the selected Snapshot.

If this button is grayed out you need to select a snapshot in Timeline.

view_last_log View Last Log
View the log from the last snapshot attempt.
settings Settings
Open Settings.
shutdown Shutdown System after Snapshot has finished
Shutdown the computer and poweroff after a snapshot has finished. The main window must stay open for this. If shutdown is not supported on the system this button will be grayed out.
exit Exit
Close the main window. Running Snapshots will remain in background.
help Help
Menu with links to this help, FAQ, report bugs...

Files Toolbar

up Up
Go to the parent folder.
show_hidden Show hidden files
Toggle hidden files (starting with a dot) to be shown in files view.
restore Restore

Restore selected files or folders. This button has a sub-menu (hold down the button). Default action is Restore.

If this button is grayed out you need to select a snapshot in Timeline.

restore Restore
Restore the selected files or folders to the original destination.
restore_to Restore to...
Restore the selected files or folders to a new destination.
restore Restore ‘/path’
Restore the currently shown folder and all its content to the original destination.
restore_to Restore ‘/path’ to...
Restore the currently shown folder and all its content to a new destination.
snapshots Snapshots
Open Snapshots Dialog.

Timeline

The Timeline lists all Snapshots which where already taken. You can browse them to see its contents in right hand Files View. The first item Now is not a Snapshot. It is a live view on the local file-system. It shows exact the same as your normal file browser. Multi selection is possible to remove multiple Snapshots altogether.

Files View

Depending on selection in left hand Timeline this will either show the original files or the files in the selected snapshot. You can jump directly to your home or include folders in Shortcuts.

Statusbar

Show current status. While a snapshot is running this will show a progress-bar combined with current speed, already transfered data and the last message from rsync.